Chirag holdings claim LJP symbol for Bihar indirect votes

The Lok Janshakti party led by Chirag Paswan has demanded the right to use the party’s name and symbol for the upcoming two-seat assembly ballot in Bihar, and wrote to the electoral commission to reject his ex’s request – Uncle Pashupati Kumar Paras for being party President.

The indirect vote on two seats – Tarapur in Munger and Kusheshwarsthan in Darbhanga – is scheduled for October 30 and the results will be announced on November 2.

Mr. Paras and four other party MPs rebelled against Mr. Paswan and announced that they were the real LJP. Mr. Paras was then inducted into the cabinet of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“Paras’ claim to be the party chairman also violates the party’s constitution,” said Abdul Khaliq, general secretary of the LJP (Chirag faction).

“The election which Paras claimed made him party chairman does not meet the requirement of rule 15 of the Election Symbol (Reservation and Allocation) Ordinance 1968,” the letter said. CE of Mr. Chirag Paswan on September 23.

In addition, Khaliq said, “at the national executive meeting held on June 15, 2021 in Patna, it was unanimously decided to expel Paras and four other party deputies for anti-party activities.”


However, Mr Paras claimed that LJP and his electoral symbol – the bungalow – belonged only to his faction.

“I was recognized by the president of the Lok Sabha as leader of the LJP parliamentary party and I was also appointed national president of the LJP by the national executive committee. In addition, I was also appointed Minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s office on the LJP quota. he said speaking to local media in Patna.

He added: “We are the real LJP because we have the majority and there should be no confusion as to who is the real heir of the party founder, the late Ram Vilas Paswan.”

JD (U) strongholds

Tarapur and Kusheshwarsthan were both held by the ruling JD (U) and became vacant following the deaths of MPs Mewalal Choudhury and Sashi Bhushan Hazari respectively. The party worked hard to retain the two seats and party sources said The Hindu that the names of the candidates are “almost finalized”.

The names of Aman Choudhury, son of former party deputy Sashi Bhushan Choudhary of Kusheshwarsthan and Shubhanand Mukesh, son of former state congress leader Sadanand Singh, or Rajeev Singh in the Tarapur seat are shown around .

The opposition mahagathbandhan The parties (of the grand alliance) – Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress – have also been considering candidates for the seats. Congress formed a five-member committee to decide on its candidate for the (reserved) seat in Kusheshwarsthan. In the 2020 legislative elections, Congress candidate Ashok Ram was defeated by Sashi Bhushan Hazari of JD (U).

Meanwhile, the RJD has announced that it will contest the two seats. In 2020, Divya Prakash, daughter of top RJD leader Jai Prakash Yadav was the mahagathbandhan candidate for Tarapur but was beaten by Mewalal Choudhury by over 7,000 votes.

Party leaders said: “RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav will soon make the final decision on the candidates.” In his virtual address to party workers recently, Mr. Prasad urged them to work hard for the secondary ballots and ensure the victory of the candidates presented by the party. mahagathbandhan.

Nominations for the polls, which began on Friday, close on October 8.

Source link

Previous Apple Releases Updated San Francisco, New York Fonts, SF Symbols
Next Questionable design, construction practices likely contributed to Surfside condo collapse

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *